TL;DR
Get decor and gifts delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Amazon announced the Ring Smart Lock, a $249 lock that can use its thumb-turn dial to generate enough power to unlock the door if its rechargeable battery dies. The lock is expected in the US in early 2027, pending FCC approval; Amazon has not specified how many turns are needed.
Amazon has announced Ring’s first smart lock, a $249 device that can generate emergency power when its rechargeable battery dies: users turn the lock’s thumb-turn dial to produce enough power to unlock the door, according to the company. The lock is expected to go on sale in the US in early 2027, pending FCC approval.
Amazon says turning the dial “a few times” can generate enough power to unlock the door and get inside. The company has not disclosed the number of turns required or provided other performance details about the emergency charging mechanism. The dial is built into the lock, rather than requiring users to find a hidden charging port or connect a separate battery.
The Ring Smart Lock offers fingerprint entry and a backlit touchscreen keypad. Owners can register multiple users and schedule access, including setting temporary codes that expire after a specified period. The lock can also be operated or monitored through the Ring mobile app and controlled with voice commands through compatible Alexa devices.
Amazon says installation requires no wiring. The lock uses Ring’s replaceable Quick Release Ultra Battery Pack and connects to other devices through Amazon’s low-power Sidewalk network rather than relying on home Wi-Fi. The lock has no camera, so video monitoring would require a separate Ring doorbell or camera. Amazon lists three finishes—black, silver and brass—and a $249 price.
Emergency Access Without a Backup Key
A dead battery can leave a smart-lock owner outside if the lock has no working backup entry method. Amazon’s dial-powered feature is designed to address that situation without requiring a physical key or an external battery connection. Its usefulness will depend on whether the dial can reliably provide enough power when the main battery is depleted; Amazon has not yet supplied test results or detailed operating instructions.
The lock’s other access methods may also matter for households that need different permissions for residents, visitors or service workers. Temporary codes and scheduled access could let owners grant entry without handing out a permanent key or code. Remote controls and alerts, however, depend in part on Sidewalk coverage, which Amazon says must be adequate at the home.
Ring Smart Lock emergency power dial
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Ring’s Lock Joins Its Security Lineup
The smart lock is part of a broader Ring product announcement that includes new cameras. Amazon announced several Retinal Vision 4K models, including Outdoor Cam 4K Plus, Spotlight Cam 4K Plus and Floodlight Cam 4K Plus. The source report says preorders for those models begin immediately, with prices starting at $149.99.
Amazon also announced an Indoor Cam 4K, priced at $99.99 and available immediately, with a physical privacy shutter. A separate Pan-Tilt Indoor Cam 2K, priced at $69.99, can rotate and tilt to track movement, according to Amazon. The cameras are separate products: the Ring Smart Lock itself does not include video.
The lock’s reliance on Sidewalk distinguishes it from devices that connect directly over household Wi-Fi. Amazon describes Sidewalk as a low-power, long-range network; the report cautions that remote access and alerts depend on having adequate coverage. The announcement does not establish how well the network will reach every home.
Power, Coverage and Approval Details
Several practical details remain undisclosed. Amazon has not said how many turns are needed, how much emergency power the mechanism produces, or whether it can do more than unlock the door when the battery is empty. The report also does not provide independent testing of the feature.
The announced US launch is conditional on FCC approval, and Amazon has not provided an exact release date. Sidewalk coverage may vary by location, so it is not clear how many prospective buyers will be able to use the lock’s connected features reliably. The announcement also does not specify whether the lock supports other smart-home platforms beyond the stated Alexa controls.
US Launch Expected in 2027
Amazon expects the Ring Smart Lock to become available in the US in early 2027, subject to FCC approval. The company has not announced a specific launch day. Further product details, including the exact emergency-turn procedure and the scope of connected features, may be provided closer to release.
For now, the main confirmed points are the $249 price, three finishes, listed entry methods and the dial-based emergency power feature as described by Amazon. The lock’s real-world performance and Sidewalk availability remain to be established after launch.
Key Questions
How does the Ring Smart Lock work if its battery dies?
Amazon says users can turn the thumb-turn dial to generate enough power to unlock the door. The company says it may take “a few times” but has not given an exact number.
When will the Ring Smart Lock be available?
Amazon expects US availability in early 2027, pending FCC approval. No specific release date was announced.
How much does the lock cost?
The announced price is $249. Amazon listed black, silver and brass finishes.
Does the Ring Smart Lock have a camera?
No. The lock does not include a camera. Amazon says users who want video at the door would need to pair it with a separate Ring doorbell or camera.
Does the lock need home Wi-Fi?
Amazon says it connects to other devices through its Sidewalk network, rather than relying on home Wi-Fi. Remote access and alerts depend on adequate Sidewalk coverage, which may vary by location.
Source: rss
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
